HOW LONG IS A TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY CLASS?
“The Texas License to Carry class is how long?” is a response I got recently from a prospective student. They thought in the time it takes to grill burgers, the class can cover 147 pages of Texas laws and still have time to shoot 50 rounds on a course of fire with 3 stages and 12 strings. Some instructors take your money and cut corners. I don’t know about you, but risking my life and family finances on a second-rate class to save a couple hours on a Saturday afternoon is not worth it. This article breaks down the LTC class as mandated by statute and administered by the DPS.
THE 4 FOOD GROUPS
There are 4 modules of classroom instruction, also referred to as the 4 food groups, that are statutory requirements per FAQ #28, to be delivered in 4 to 6 hours per FAQ #65. This time is classroom only. It does not include the shooting proficiency qualification, test taking, paperwork, or breaks.
- Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force
- Handgun use and safety
- Non-violent dispute resolution
- Proper storage practices for handguns
The minimum and maximum module times are published for instructors in the DPS LTC Course Outline that breaks down the 4 to 6 hour mandate.
Module 1 requires 1 hour 45 minutes to 2 hours to complete.
Module 2 is a 1 hour 15 minutes to 1 hour 30 minute block of instruction.
Module 3 requires 45 minutes to 1 hour to complete.
Module 4 is also a 45 minutes to 1 hour block of instruction.
These times add up to 4 hours 30 minutes to 5 hours 30 minutes.
What are the remaining necessary elements to complete the course?
First, the instructor must check-in each student on the LTC-8 roster that includes the student legal name and ID number takes 15 minutes for a an average class size of 20 students before class begins.
Next is the instructor introduction, evacuation and medical response plan, and agenda. This typically takes 15 minutes.
The shooting proficiency demonstration consumes 1 hour for 20 students shooting in 2 groups of 10 shooters.
Factor in 15 minutes for a short break, another 30 minutes for test taking and scoring, and 15 minutes to complete and scan the LTC-100 Certificate of Completion, the 4 hour class is actually a 7 hour day start to finish. Using the 5 hour DPS average class time, 8 hours is needed – or twice as long as some instructors advertise.
The goal of the LTC class for the student is to have a complete understanding of the laws on where they can and cannot lawfully carry a handgun, plus know the statutory requirements for justified use of deadly force to defend persons and property.
If the goal of your instructor is to charge top dollar to teach answers to the test in half the time necessary, find a new instructor – or you may need to find an attorney.
I take the time to answer every question any student has on justification and will stay after class as long as it takes to answer each question.
I also offer to testify free for any student that may be charged after a defensive encounter.
The goal of this article is to help the prospective student make an informed decision on qualified LTC instructors.
Each year, LTC instructors have their teaching certifications revoked, and well-intending law-abiding license holders end up with legal problems that best case in the grand scheme of things have their LTC suspended or revoked.
Vet your instructor, put the work in, and learn all you can about the laws regarding lawfully carrying a handgun in Texas.
This blog post is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal or medical advice. Seek professional instruction or competent supervision before attempting any live fire methods or tactics described herein. References to any company or product does not constitute an endorsement or review. Trademarks are the intellectual property of its owner.
Be Safe. Stay Dangerous™
© 2020 Force Justified, LLC. All Rights Reserved